Ed & Jen’s anniversary weekend sans kids: 29th June – 1st July

Edward really comes through every few years; just when I think we have got that peak of “we have just been together so long, we don’t really need to do anything, just being together is enough….”. But lo and behold, a really awesome surprise.

This year Edward sorted out a weekend, arranged for Nana to visit and choose a thoughtful destination. All to my surprise…..

Off to Oxford – the city backdrop of my new favourite TV series “Lewis”.

Edward went to Brookes, and therefore confident in planning weekend activities. He was excited to show me around all his old stomping ground.

We stayed in the city centre at The Bath Hotel. We were up at the top of a terrace house, narrow winding steps. A small but perfect hideaway and even though a city room the view was generous.

My favourite was breakfast with a Peach Bellini at The Grand Cafe, a walk through the Botanical Garden and a guided punting tour.

In the evening, Edward took me to a really cool Spanish tapas place – great food, decor and music. The margaritas were to die for….completely authentic, addictive flavour.

We haven’t been out for drinks in ages (together) and Ed planned on taking me to Raoul. The menu to the left of my Santiago speaks for itself….

Leave a comment